Much progress was made over the weekend. The car is, for the most part, ready to be fired.

The weekend entailed wiring, wiring, wiring, and more wiring. Along with other miscellaneous things that needed to be taken care of.

I started off by stopping at the auto store to grab a couple of things, namely cheap store brand oil (just for first start up purposes, then I will be changing it), oil filter, wiring loom, and other miscellaneous things. I then headed back home and got started on finishing up the body wiring harness that I started two weeks ago. I routed a ground cable from the battery in the back all the way up to the starter since the 240z is known to have bad grounding throughout the body, I figure I better not take my chances grounding to the body in the rear. Here is what I ended up with on the starter wiring:

Image

Really trying my best to keep these wires tucked, but it is more difficult than I anticipated. So far I’ve done a good job of it, so hopefully that trend will continue.

Anyway, the next major task involved putting together EFI wiring harness. Luckily, I was able to reuse all of my pigtails from the previous rendition of my wiring on all of the engine peripherals and sensor, so that made life easy. I am utilizing a weather pack 22 pin connector, so everything pins up to this connector on the firewall. I’m hoping this will make things simple, I’m just not sure how yet. It looks pretty though! Here are some photos for your enjoyment:

Image

I’m not really digging the mount for the coil, by the way. I made it, and then after a couple of hours, I had to scratch my head and say ‘what the heck was I thinking?’

That is the 22 pin connector, specifically the male side that bolts to the firewall.

This went great, the wiring came together, and everything actually seems to be working well. Well, I went ahead and kind of thew things together right at the end last night (had to get back to the apartment to do homework), and attempted to see if I could get some spark and upon turning on the key and letting the fuel pump prime, fuel came from every possible place it could! 😦 First, I didn’t have the filler neck attached because I dropped one side of the tank down so I could pull the battery (cracked top) and consequently the filler neck decided to partially pop off, but I placed a bucket under it because I was in a hurry. I’ll take care of that later. Not only that, but fuel leaked from all fittings that I placed on the end of the hard lines. Now, I kind of expected this, but I had wishful thinking. I used the sleeve and nut style AN adapter ends, which I believe, now that they’ve leaked horribly, should only be used for soft aluminum on carburetor setups. Oops. Fortunately, I do have some Jegs high pressure fittings that are supposed to be rated for 250 PSI, so those should do the trick. I also had major leaking from the seal between my fuel rail and RC engineering injectors, which are probably just from back O rings considering these injectors are from 1998.

So, after all of that, I still do believe I made significant progress, however, I have some major issues that do need addressed. Did I mention I have no spark? That’ s probably the least of my worries at this point.

More later, gotta get back to class.

Ztay tuned!

