I’ve been tossing this around in my head for quite some time now, and I am seeking advice regarding an important automotive investment decision.

I drive a 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX with some STi bits as my daily driver. I absolutely love this car to death, and it holds a significant amount of sentimental value considering it’s my first car and I have nothing but good things to say about it. However, I’m starting to consider the future of my Subaru in terms of reliability.

My Subaru

Also, the unique thing about my car is that when I had my first front end accident, I was able to pick up an entire JDM front end (radiator support, bumper, hood, fog light covers, head lights, grille) to replace the USDM stock parts from a Version 7 car. I’ve come to a crossroad where the car is starting to accrue some serious miles and the engine/transmission are getting a little tired (just hit 175,000 miles this week). By no means are they showing any kind of signs of failure, but as a daily driver, I need to have a dependable car that I know will be there when I need it. This car has NEVER left me stranded or failed me once. I’m so proud of my Subaru and can’t say enough good things about the dependability of this car. However, I think it is time to consider the possibility of either a transplant or potentially another Subaru. I’ve been bouncing back and forth between either trading in the Subaru for a 2006-2007 STi or picking up an entire Version 7 STi swap for my current car. For those of you who may not know, the 2002 Impreza was not offered in STi trim in the United States in 2002-2003, but it was in Japan. As a result, the Japanese STi motor received a rock solid bottom end 2.0 liter motor with forged internals, bigger turbo, and all the STi bits. These motors are notorious for being super stout and putting down 300-350 hp right out of the chute safely.

Version 7 Front Clip

I realize power isn’t a priority, and being a cheap college student, power should be the last thing to I should concern myself with, but to have such a stout motor and being the car guy that I am, it gives me that piece of mind as far as dependability goes and the power is just an added plus. The Version 7 JDM swap package will include the entire motor with all the accessories, 6 speed transmission, axles, drive shaft, R180 rear end, all four hubs with Brembo brakes all around, aluminum LCAs, and they said they would throw in the JDM Steering wheel and shift knob, as well. I know this is a hell of a deal, and I’m definitely getting what I paid for here.

As for the USDM STi option, my thought there is that everything is newer, low miles, the 2.5 will have that nice torque curve, it has all the cool STi stuff already installed, and it’s a stout car that I know I can depend on. Like I said, it would need to be a 2006-2007 STi in World Rally Blue with the gold wheels.

To sum things up, I’m contemplating whether dropping a stout motor into a high mileage body is ok, or if I am better off picking up an entirely new vehicle. Honestly, I would prefer to take the dive into the swap, but if it’s a bad idea I need some input to support that school of thought.

So, as this post draws to an end, I’d simply like your thoughts and opinion on the matter. I’ve included a poll in this post below, so you can leave your response there.

Thank you for your time and consideration, I do appreciate it!

