After laying down the epoxy floor, it was time to take care of the walls and install proper lighting and make it look pretty. I always see the two tone garages and I think they look really good. Seeing that my garage has a build in ledge, I decided to take advantage of this to use as the stripe area to break up the gray epoxy area from the white walls. First thing first though – LED lights!

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.41.01 PM.png
My ugly mug

I did some research before purchasing my lights because of the number of options available on the market. I know LED lighting is the new wave of the future, but many old school guys prefer the fluorescents over LEDs because of the lack of serviceability of LED lights. The thing about that though is that LEDs really don’t burn out, so with that in mind, I went ahead and moved forward with the Feit 4′ LED Shop Lights from CostCo. These guys run about $29 each ($20 each when they go on sale). I chose to go with 6 lights – 2 for each of the three bays in my garage.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.46.47 PM.png
Light bulb to two prong adapter

One thing I really lucked out on was the fact that my ceiling features 3 separate light bulb fixtures – one for each bay. This allowed me to pick up some converters that allowed me to plug my LED lights directly into the fixtures using a converter. Unfrotunately I still had to run extension cords to the 3 lights towards the front of the bays, but that task was easy enough.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.49.07 PM.png
ALL OF THE LIGHTS

The result was truly beautiful – I feel spoiled. Every shop environment I’ve worked in consisted of very poor lighting that was not meant for shop environments (the best lighting being my most recent shop I was in, it wasn’t bad). This lighting setup is straight up awesome for the work I plan on doing, and it really wasn’t all that expensive. Onto the walls!

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.50.46 PM.png
Spackling the holes in the walls

The previous home owners had shelves and such that hung from the walls, so I was forced to fill these with spackle to get rid of the big uglies. Easy enough.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.52.13 PM.png
Making it white again

Even though the walls were already white, there were quite a few marks and things from regular use. It looked like someone had hung a bike from the wall, there were a number of nails, lots of dirt and a shade of black from years of build up. The new coat of white paint really gave it an all new look!

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.54.18 PM.png
The lights really came through when it came time to lay down a fresh coat of paint

There were portions of the room above the garage doors where a raw piece of wood was installed to (what I assume) is used to reinforce the garage door mechanism. The installers didn’t bother to paint these white, so I took it upon myself to go ahead and do this to match the rest of the walls.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.56.06 PM.png
100mph Red!

The red for the border is such a cool color. I walked into Home Depot and said give me the most vibrant red you’ve got. He pointed over to the sample colors and I spotted the shade I liked right away! They call it 100mph red, and it sure lives up to it’s name!

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.57.21 PM.png
Paint paint paint!

At the end of the day, I had spend 6+ hours in the garage getting this project done. I was beat, and still am. I’m extremely happy the way this thing turned out, especially the whole color scheme (I was unsure as to how this would look).

IMG_5268.JPG.jpeg

Check out the full video feature here:

 

