It’s been awhile since I’ve written a post on exactly what I’ve been working on, so let’s get started.

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 9.23.32 AM.png

First and foremost, the Lexus got a new addition: a hitch! As you may know, the Lexus will be on tow duty this season for the 510 and the 240Z, so a hitch was a must! I was able to install the hitch without much fuss, but the corroded bolts/threads were definitely a pain in the a**. It was at this point that I jumped into my next excursion…new power tools.

So surprisingly enough, I’ve never actually owned a nice set of power tools. I did buy a little wimpy Black and Decker power drill a year or so back, but that’s a pretty basic tool. I’m talking more about impact drivers and wrenches. So after I installed that hitch on the Lexus, I was tired of destroying myself breaking loose some of these insanely tight bolts. At this point, I went ahead and picked up a set of Milwaukee impact wrenches and a couple other goodies.

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 9.29.41 AM.png

The kit includes a 1/2″ and 3/8″ impact as well as a nice little light (http://amzn.to/2oa9IkQ). Not only that, but I also decided that something super compact would be a very nice addition to this arsenal, so I went ahead and picked up a 1/4″ hex impact driver as well (http://amzn.to/2oajAuM) and I will never look back! It’s truly insane how much energy these things save me. Before, if I had a bolt that was really stuck, I’d sometimes be ready to call it quits after breaking one of those loose. So since buying these guys, it’s been a huge time saver and energy conserver. Love these things!

I’ve also been working on the Z a lot as of lately. Before the car even got to the shop, I pulled the crankshaft with my buddy Jason.

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 9.34.17 AM.png

Since then, I’ve moved the car into the shop and have begun fitting the engine in the chassis and preparing to get the car down to my buddy Ross at Rebellion Forge to get the roll bar welded in as well as the turbo exhaust manifold built. It will definitely be a busy month.

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 9.40.37 AM.png

On top of all that, I’m also preparing the 510 to hit the dyno up at The Shop, Inc. at the end of the month AND get some street tuning in with my buddy Troy. The car is fighting me a bit and I’ve been battling a valve lash issues but I think I’ve cured that. However, the push button module box just died on my the other day while driving the thing and it has developed an oil leak from the valve cover from over tightening, so I will be addressing those issues today.

And last, but not least, my biggest thing I’m excited about is closing is on 1,000 SUBSCRIBERS on YOUTUBE! Yes, this isn’t a lot in comparison to the 1320 channel that I manage, however, for filming this build process and simply doing what I enjoy and making a little revenue off of it…this is truly awesome. I’m hoping I can also inspire some folks and serve as an example for those who want to do something similar in the future.

Until next time!

